Daily Archives: July 19, 2012

Inlet to welcome Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra

One of nation’s premier regional orchestras to play Arrowhead Park, Friday, July 27

Symphony concertgoers will experience a level of performance this year, beyond anything they’ve ever enjoyed locally, and certainly beyond anything the Fulton Chain of Lakes Performing Arts Council (FCLPAC) ever envisioned when they first thought to bring major orchestra talent to Central Adirondack audiences, said Jerry Dupuis, president of FCLPAC.

“This concert, our 14th annual, will be monumental. Any audience member who has enjoyed past performances won’t want to miss it. Those who have never attended, yet are curious—this is their year to reward themselves with a wonderful experience. There is no doubt this year’s concert will rank among the best ever locally,” he said.

The reason is the addition of the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra (RPO), which is scheduled to make its inaugural appearance.

The event will be held at Inlet’s Arrowhead Park on Friday, July 27, rain or shine, under an enormous tent covering.

“The RPO is one of the most renowned regional orchestras in the country, and their participation has made for a major concert event,” Dupuis said.

And a confluence of circumstances were required to make it happen, he said. Continue reading

Share Button

Fourth Lake Competition: Sailors hold Annual George Blakeman Regatta

On July 14th, the Central Adirondack Sailing Association held the annual George Blakeman Regatta, named in honor of one of the founding members of the organization.

The regatta included 3 races in extremely hot conditions relative to typical Fourth Lake sailing.

Many of the sailors commented that it was the warmest races they had sailed in over the past 20 years.

Competing with the many party barges and jet-skiers for space on the lake, 12 Flying Scots raced in at least one of the races with 9 boats completing all three over a period of about 4 hours. The results for the regatta were: Continue reading

Share Button

Webb board adopts resolution to lease health center to St. E’s

A resolution to accept the terms and conditions of a lease, which was proposed by St. Elizabeth Medical Center to establish and maintain medical offices and provide full medical and health services at the Town of Webb Health Center on South Shore Road in Old Forge, was adopted by the Town of Webb Board on Monday, July 16th.

The lease involves a space of approximately 5,100 square feet on the first floor of the Health Center Building.

The term of the lease is fifteen (15) years, with an option to renew for an additional five (5) years. An annual rental has been established at $30,600 a year for the first five years; $40,800 a year for the second five years and $51,000 per year thereafter.

In addition, St. E’s has agreed to pay and be responsible for all  of the costs and expenses of renovating the leased premises to accommodate the medical offices and to bring those offices into full compliance with New York State Health Standards.

The town will be responsible for expenses related to heating, ventilating and air conditioning systems.

The resolution is subject to a permissive referendum.

Share Button

Forestport: Special election set; public to vote on bridge plan, September 18th

by John Isley, Guest Contributor

The Forestport town board, at their regular July 18 meeting, scheduled a special election for Tuesday September 18, from noon to 8 p.m. at the districts two polling sites, the Forestport Town Hall and the Woodgate Fire Station.

The purpose of the special election is to submit a referendum to the voters on a bond resolution adopted by the town board on June 20.

The resolution, if approved, would authorize the issuance of up to $650,000 in serial bonds or bond anticipation notes for the purpose of reconstruction of the twin bridges on River Road in Forestport.

The action of the June 20 meeting was subject to the filing of a petition for the referendum signed by at least 35 qualified voters of the township calling for the vote.

Town Clerk Shelly Entwistle received on July 12 fifteen petitions signed by 141 electors, which she certified and presented to the board for the special election.

The date for the vote has to comply with time periods for special elections established by the election law.

Continue reading

Share Button

Card of Thanks

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

The Stripp family would like to thank all the many wonderful friends and colleagues who contributed so generously to Lorraine’s memorial bench, located in the lobby of View.

It’s a marvelous tribute to one who is, I’m certain, keeping an eye on the arts center.

Al Stripp & family, Old Forge

Share Button

NYS: Residential-brush burn ban in effect

As a result of the mild winter and above average summer temperatures, the New York Department of Environmental Conservation has, at the direction of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo, recently instituted a statewide residential burn ban that will be in effect through October 10th.

Additionally, all previously issued burning permits have been suspended and there is now a moratorium on new permits through October.

Violators of the open burning regulation will be subject to both civil and criminal enforcement actions. Continue reading

Share Button

Thendara Club’s ladies 9-hole league raises over $2,000 at ‘Rally for Cure’

Chris Teesdale, left, signs in at the Rally for the Cure registration desk. At right are Barbara Hauck and Shirley Lindsay. Photo by Carol Hansen.

The Ladies 9 Hole League’s Annual Golf Benefit at the Thendara Golf Club held on Tuesday, July 17, raised more than $2,000 that will be shared by Rally for the Cure and Home Aide Service of the Central Adirondacks (HASCA).

The 42 golfers participated in a number of competitions during the event, according to co-organizer Martha Widdicombe.

The Closest to the Pin was won by Heather Stafford and Sherry Noonan, with each receiving a Cleveland Mashie Golf Club.

The Putting Contest was won by Carolyn Belknap, Joyce Collins, Jean Prinzing and Carol Susko.

A Silent Auction raised $435.

The Winning Team consisted of Carol Gehrig, Jane Westworth, Pam Jones and Claudia Visalli.

The second winning team included Linda Salin, Sherry Noonan, Debbie Fenton, and Shirley Lindsay.

Share Button