New course record set at 2013 Adirondack Canoe Classic


It was another successful year for the Adirondack Canoe Classic with a new course record set by the four-person team of Andy Trebold, Steve Lajoie, Nick Walton and Matt Rimer who finished the 90 mile course in 11 hours, 6 minutes and 29 seconds.

The previous record was 11 hours, 24 minutes.

The race began from the Old Forge Pond on Friday, September 6 with 275 registered racers and ended Sunday, September 8 in Saranac Lake with 260 crossing the finish line.

Brian McDonnell, race director for the Adirondack Watershed Alliance, said the weather was superb on Friday, overcast with excellent race conditions on Saturday and a bit of a challenge with the wind on Sunday.

He said participation by college students was worth noting, with 50 students representing Hamilton, Paul Smith’s College,  St. Lawrence University, Middle-bury College, SUNY Potsdam, SUNY Plattsburgh and Drexel University taking part in the race.

Two people competed on Stand Up Paddleboards (SUPs), bringing the total to three SUPs ever to compete in the 90-Miler.

“It was a particularly competitive year for the four-person canoe category. Many of the paddlers represented the best of the best of the sport for the past 20-plus years,” McDonnell said.

Old Forge Fire and Rescue, Herkimer County Sheriff and Hamilton County Sheriff, along with Department of Environ-mental Conservation personnel, Rivett’s Marine and a number of volunteers, including Deke Morrison and Ed Stafford, provided safety boat support to the paddlers.

McDonnell said they received significant volunteer support from the Central Adirondack Search and Rescue Team (CASART) on day one.

He extended his appreciation to the Central Adirondack Association and the Towns of Webb, Inlet, Indian Lake and Long Lake for their support.

Local participants, their race class and times are as follows:

In the Open Touring Class:  Ethan Kress of Old Forge and Bailey Dillon of Boonville – 17:37.51; Sandy and Pierre Tetreault of Old Forge – 15:41:14; Kevin Birtle of Old Forge and Brian Vandelinder – 17:39:41; Anne Garbarino of Eagle Bay, Barb Getty and Janine Phaneuf of Old Forge and Jan Ferrick – 20:33:41; Pete Shannon of Old Forge, B. Harrison, H. Lavigne and Tom Shannon – 20:24:10; Joanne Maly, Rich Nelson, James Williams and Brian Schoen of Old Forge – 15:15:33; Brian Morgan, Jason Villiere, Kristin and Korie Helmer of Old Forge – 17:35:14; Sam Phaneuf of Old Forge, J. Griffin, M. Hjelm, I. DeRego – 18:31:01; Natalie Tickner, Tina Olsen, Olin Eddy of Old Forge and Adam Wheeler – 16:12:08.

In the C-1 Stock Men Class: Daniel Tickner, Jr. of Old Forge – 18:54:43.

In the C-2 Stock Men’s Open Class: Michael Brazell of Otter Lake and Laramie, WY and Andrew Pritchard -15:46:39.

In the C-2 Stock Mixed Open Class: Robert Zimmerman of Old Forge and Julie Hinsdill of Boonville – 15:42:34. 


Kristin Helmer & Jason Villiere Jake Griffin, Matt Hjelm, Isaac Derego, and Sam Phaneuf _MG_0073_crp*******Jake Burke & Bill Brooker From left, Olin Eddy, Tina Olsen, Natalie Tickner, and Adam Wheeler Ethan Kress  Sandy and Pierre Tetreault From left, Rich Nelson, Brian Schoen, Jim Williams, and Joanne Maly  IMG_5405 IMG_5447*******crp IMG_5566******_crp  

**Photos by Gina Greco & Michele deCamp**


Share Button